Tagged: Domain name

Strange emails I get: May I guest post?

Spanish Ornithological Society
Image via Wikipedia

Today I got an email from someone I had never heard of offering to write a guest article for my blog. I had never been approached for this before, and she included her URL so I took a look. It was a pretty spammy website. It had a huge number of outbound links. Clearly it was a link farm. In addition it had stock photos and looked like that old domain parking look. It had some articles that had a large number of links as well. Probably an SEO did that blog and is selling links.

It always surprises me that emails that I have received. Most of them I ignore, like the attempts to get me to write about their product or service that has no relevance to my audience. I wonder if they even look at the website they are trying to spam? What I don’t understand is that they expect to get people to link to them. They don’t offer anything unique so why should I?

Share

Are you having DNS issues after 10.6.5?

Install East Asian languages with Windows XP
Image via Wikipedia

Join the club.  Fortunately KJK555 has a solution or you can do it manually yourself by clicking this post.  Turns out to be a problem with the mDNSResponder.

I have created an standard install package to make the fix painless to apply.

You can get it here:

http://azlist.info/kj/support/mdns_repair10.6.5.pkg.zip

unzip it to your desktop and install the package.

note: for installation on 10.6.5 systems only.
#replaces the four files described in my previous post#

 

Share

Godaddy.com $0.99 Domain Names (via Marketing, Technology, and Reviews)

SCOTTSDALE, AZ - AUGUST 25:  Go Daddy CEO Bob ...
Image by Getty Images via @daylife

Amazing low price for a domain name! Avoid Godaddy.com. I moved from them. They are a waste of time and resources.

Need a domain name? GoDaddy.com is having a $0.99 domain name sale. Get $0.99 domain names at GoDaddy.com use coupon code “SOCCER99″ … Read More

via Marketing, Technology, and Reviews

 

Share

A new type of spam?

An initial attempt to vectorise the Cyprus coa...
Image via Wikipedia

I just received a new type of spam I’ve never gotten before.  It was from a website that said I had registered and gave me a username/password I didn’t recognize.  I looked at the website and it looked legit.  I did a search on their domain name and they are based in Cyprus.  I wonder if I should alert the authorities to this spam?  Also their contact for domain issues was a gmail address.  Perhaps a friendly email to him will get his attention.

I emailed them back and told them that I didn’t create this account and to delete it.

Share

How to setup your domain without the www

English: On Rodger Law
Image via Wikipedia

You can read one guide to doing this here. Rodger has the answer “Set up simple forwarding (without ‘cloaking’, ‘masking’ or ‘framing’ – all the same thing) from baskerville.me to www.baskerville.me and it will all work seamlessly. ”

Share